NOTD: Deborah Lippmann Lady Sings the Blue + Essie Bobbing for Baubles

IMG_2893IMG_2892 IMG_2896

 

Whew that’s a long title! I haven’t really done glitter nails for a while because I dread removing them, but I was going through my collection and rediscovered this gorg Deborah Lippmann Lady Sings the Blue and 5 minutes later it’s all over my nails.

Lady Sings the Blue is a lovely royal blue polish with silver hex glitters and tiny micro-glitters. To avoid putting on 3 layers of this stuff, I used a blue based polish – Essie Bobbing for Baubles. It’s darker than in the pictures when painted, almost like a dark navy with a tinge of grey, and it makes a great base for the glitter. Both polishes went on beautifully, I used one coat of each, and no top coat. As you can see it could really use one since it’s not super glossy. I personally don’t mind it too much, but if you are adamant about your tips being glossy, I highly suggest a top coat.

Do you avoid putting on glitter polishes because you can’t stand removing them? Do you have any tips/tricks on removing them less painlessly? Do share! :)

I hope you are having a lovely Sunday!

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 9.16.53 PM

6 thoughts on “NOTD: Deborah Lippmann Lady Sings the Blue + Essie Bobbing for Baubles

  1. Hey Angel, what a gorgeous manicure! Layering it seems like a great idea, as I know the DL shade is kinda sheer on its own. I know it’s easier to remove glitter if you wrap your nails with cotton pads soaked with nail polish remover and then cover with foil. Have you tried that?

    • Thanks Sunny! Yeah previously I’ve never used a base colour with Deborah Lippmann polishes and it takes 3-4 layers to achieve opacity and removing it is just… painful! I definitely will try the foil method you suggested! Hopefully it will make the process less time consuming :) Thanks!

  2. Ooh I never thought about using a colored base coat for glitter polishes! I have a Deborah Lippman glitter polish that I avoid cause it’s inconvenient! I love how stormy looking this one is!

    • Thanks! Which Deborah Lippmann glitter do you have? I loveee her glitter polishes but always loathed how many coats I needed for opacity! I’m glad I finally thought of using a colour base coat to make it more bearable!

Leave a Reply

