Laura Mercier Universal Invisible Loose Setting Powder

IMG_2837IMG_2832

I am not a fan of loose powder, ever. I don’t care how much more finely milled it is whatsoever, it’s just so darn messy. So when I got the Laura Mercier Universal Invisible Loose Setting Powder in a sample set from Holt Renfrew a while ago I was just like… K I just want to use this up and be done with it, half of it will probably end up on my desk anyways. But now that I’m almost done it, I think I’m going to miss it.

The powder is a white powder that becomes translucent when applied (as the name suggests).  The powder is very finely milled, doesn’t make my face look cakey at all. It mattifies my foundation/BB cream right away and lasts all day. I apply using a Laura Mercier Mini Fan Powder Brush that came with the sample set. I have never used a fan brush before this but I find this picks up just the right amount of product. I’m surprised at how much I like this product (minus the white trail it leaves on my desk every morning, I swear it’s just the powder).

Although I really like this, I have a few powders on hand and I’m still in love with my Rimmel Stay Matte Powder, so I’m not going to rush out to buy this ($44CAD for 0.4oz at Sephora). But if I ever decide to switch to a loose powder, this will be high on my list for sure!

Are you a fan of pressed powder or loose powder? What is your favourite makeup setting powder?

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 9.16.53 PM

7 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Universal Invisible Loose Setting Powder

  1. Ooo I was seriously debating to get that set from Holts but my friend convinced me not to do it as I have too much makeup and I’ll be forced to use that $10 coupon it came with! I heard this product was really good plus it came with a mini brush; which was a huge factor for me when I was deciding.

    I have the shiseido translucent powder; which I love but I hate the mini mushroom cloud of white powder that comes up when I try to use it -_-

    • I totally just remembered I didn’t end up using my $10 coupon because they were out of stock with the product I wanted. So much fail! Haha mini mushroom cloud! I totally get what you mean, my desk is black so every time I use it I see just how much powder my desk is getting. I think I might stick to pressed powder for that reason LOL!

Leave a Reply

