An Ode to Perfumes

2014-01-08 14.06.14In the latter part of last year, I finally caved and got a couple perfumes that had been on my wish list for ages. Here’s an ode to those, and an oldie.

One that I’ve had for over a year is Zara White Eau de Toilette. I picked it up largely because it was cheap (~$12CAD for 30ml). It has a very floral scent, but not overpowering. To me this is the perfect day perfume. The only downside is that the scent doesn’t last long, but since it’s so cheap, I don’t mind reapplying! And can you tell how well-loved it is? Unfortunately I just checked and I think it might be discontinued… blarhhh

One of the two new addition to my perfume collection is Chloe Eau de Parfum ($60CAD for 30ml). Boy am I glad I bought this. It’s the ultimate night perfume. No joke. Whenever I spritz this on I just feel so sophisticated and feminine. It also lasts a long time since it’s an eau de parfum. I literally find myself sniffing my wrist frequently whenever I have this on. I love both the top notes (pink peony, freesia and lychee) and the base notes (cedarwood, amber and honey). If you love a rich feminine smelling perfume, this is a classic and must have!

Another new addition is Jo Malone Peony & Blush Suede Cologne ($70CAD for 30ml). Do I have a thing for peony or what? This one is less heavy and sweet compared to the Chloe one above, but it’s just as pleasing. It’s also more refreshing than Chloe. Again, lasting power is phenomenal because it’s a cologne. It’s feminine, but playful at the same time. I think this is the special occasion perfume for me, like.. something I can see myself wearing on my wedding day (way down the road), ya know?

2 thoughts on “An Ode to Perfumes

  1. Ahh Chloe is amazing! It’s so feminine and I sniff my rollerball when I smell something bad on the bus all the time. I really really want a Jo Malone perfume, they smell sooo amazing!! I may go to holts and ask for a sample. Is the Peony and Blush Suede new? Last time I went they didn’t have that scent!

  2. I have sniffed Peony & Blush Suede and it IS a very pretty fragrance! Arianne (Glitter Geek) wore it on her wedding day! I think it’s a perfect bridal perfume 🙂

Leave a Reply

