NOTD: Color Club Port-folio with Essie Matte About You

IMG_2611IMG_2612IMG_2601
I got Color Club Port-folio back in the summer but I FINALLY around to wearing it. It’s a violet purple colour with serious green duochrome. It’s SO COOL! For some reason whenever I look at this polish it reminds me of Wicked, probably just because the purple-green duochrome looks really “witch-y” to me, like a potion boiling in a cauldron, no? Okay let’s move on before I sound more like a weirdo.

Port-folio is Β one of the strongest duochrome I’ve ever tried/seen, possibly because of the strong contrast between purple and green. The formula is a bit thin but it was opaque in 2 coats (see last picture). Unfortunately it’s hard to capture the duochrome-ness in pictures, but you can see both the green and purple there.

The duochrome was a little too strong for my current liking so I decided to throw on a matte top coat and see what it does. I used Essie Matte About You. I haven’t tried another other mattifying top coats but I love this so much I think I will remain faithful. It turns ANY polish into a matte finish (who needs to go buy individual matte polish when you have this – money saver!). With a matte top coat, the duochrome in Port-folio is definitely more muted, although you can still see the green in some lights. I love how it ended up looking! Matte About You is also SUPER fast drying, like faster than Seche-Vite fast. One thing to keep in mind – oil and matte polish are not friends. If you want to prolong the wear of your mattified polish, avoid getting hand cream or oil or anything of that sort on your nails, or else the matte effect will start to go after a couple days!

What are you wearing on your nails? Sharing is caring πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “NOTD: Color Club Port-folio with Essie Matte About You

  1. I use nails inc matte top coat and it works pretty well too! I think I like the matte more than the shiny finish! Sometimes I think chrome polishes are too intense for me, like the Revlon ones!

    and I like the background too!

    • I do like this a loy more in matte too! I will check out the Nails Inc one when/if I run out of the Essie one! Thanks for the recommendation! πŸ™‚

      Hehee I love arctic foxes, they are simply gorgeous.

    • Thanks Leanna! I didn’t quite like how it looks on its own so I thought… heck why not, might as well give it a try! I’m glad you like how it looked when it’s mattified! I also like it a lot better that way,

Leave a Reply

