Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coquette

IMG_2502 IMG_2556IMG_2559
I don’t even remember when was the first time I laid eyes on the Revlon Colorburst Lacquer and Matte Balms ($9.99 CAD), it has been that long since they were launched in the US. I finally spotted them in Rexall a few weeks back and I spent quite some time trying to figure out which one to buy, since I figured walking out with all of them is unacceptable (to my wallet).

Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coquette was the one that ended up coming home with me. Partially because of the packaging – look at that chrome pink tube; and partially because I couldn’t really find any reviews on the site at that time, so I figured it would be good to do a review on it!

I’d say Coquette is a neutral pink, with some rather obvious silver glitter in it. It didn’t really show up in the swatch, but you can see them in the second picture, and on the lips. I like shimmer, but glitter on the lips is another story, and it might be the only thing I don’t like about this shade (more on that in one second). The colour payoff is amazing, and it glides on the lips easily. It was moisturizing – true to the fact that it’s a balm. It has a minty scent, and has a slight menthol feel on the lips, which I personally like. It contains peppermint oil, shea butter, and coconut oil, which explains  the balm-iness and minty-ness.

It wore for a solid couple hours, but here comes the problem: the colour fades but the glitter stays. Not the most attractive look, and the only problem I have with this lacquer balm. But because I love the formula so much, I will definitely go check out other shades that are sans-glitter.

Have you tried the Lacquer/Matte balms? What shades would you recommend?

6 thoughts on “Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coquette

  1. I saw these at Target (FINaLLY OPENED!) and wanted to get one, but I think my lip collection will overflow itself soon…but I think I’ll eventually give in anyway LOL. I’m not a fan of obvious glitter though, since I have fat lips. I might try the matte version first!

    • I still have to go check out the local Target! I didn’t really rush out to check it out because it had really lukewarm reviews. The glitter is a bummer, but I think there are a few other lacquer balms that don’t have obvious glitter. There wasn’t a tester for Coquette when I got it so the glitter was a not so nice surprise… Let me know what you think if you try them! 🙂

  2. Hey Angel, this glitter problem is the problem I have with many shimmery lipsticks! People keep raving about the Lip Butters, but I was a dummy who picked two shimmery shades, and I ended up HATING how the shimmer looks on the lips! I really think that if you can’t do shimmer right, might as well not do it at all! I would enjoy a shimmer-free shade on me a lot more than a shimmery one that’s not done right!

    • The lip butters, believe it or not, are already way better than this one. I own quite a few lip butters and a couple of them had pretty obvious glitters (Red Velvet and Raspberry Pie for example), and they were not nearly as big a glitter-offender as Coquette. I hate the “i-look-like-i-just-ate-glitter” look.. not the most attractive look! And I agree, if you can’t do it right… leave it alone! I will definitely have to try some other glitter-less shades since I do love the formula!

Leave a Reply

