Lipstick Challenge Round Up Weeks 5 & 6

Lipstick Challenge Round Up CoverLipstick challenge swatch

Time for another lipstick round up, I can’t believe I am still going at it… how many lipsticks do I actually own?! No don’t tell me I don’t want to know!

Revlon Lip Butter in Tutti Frutti
Totally not a typical me colour. This is probably the brightest orange I own (except the actual oranges in my kitchen). Again, one of those I-don’t-know-why-I-bought-it-and-I-never-really-wore-it lip colour. Its a bright orange but because it’s rather sheer, it is actually quite wearable if you apply with a light hand. But the colour is very buildable so it can be very bright if you want it to! It’s moisturizing and lasted around 2 hours on my lips. I will try to wear this more when summer hits again (it’s gonna be a while…)!

Revlon Lip Butter in Raspberry Pie
One of the first lip butters I purchase when it first came out. A deep purple fuchsia colour that is perfect for fall. There’s minute glitters in the tube but totally not visible on the lips. The colour looks quite deep on the lips but again, like Tutti Frutti, it’s quite sheer so you can wear it with a day time look with a light hand, and layer it on for a deep dramatic look.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Pink in the Afternoon
Love this my lips but better shade. A pink that’s leaning on coral, absolutely gorgeous everyday colour. Goes on creamy, non-drying and wore for around 3-4 hours. LOVE IT.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Daring Pink
My first Revlon lipstick. Colour looks super saturated and rich in the tube, but when swatched it’s a bit sheerer – which makes it more wearable – a good thing for me. It’s a pink that’s bordering red, perfect colour for date night!

MAC Lipstick in Razzle-Dazzler
I don’t think this is available in North America except with one of their limited collection, but I picked it up when I was in Hong Kong a couple summers ago. It’s a more muted orange, almost a creamsicle colour. It’s the Lustre formula and I do find that it settles in the lines a bit, and make sure your lips are smooth when you wear this, it will accentuate any flakiness!

MAC Lipstick in Craving
Arguably one of the most talked about plummy shade that MAC has. Craving is a true deep plum shade that’s probably the epitome of a fall shade. Being part of the Amplified formula line, the colour pay off of exceptional (I’m talking about one swipe and ta-da), goes on super creamy, and stays around for 4-5 hours. If you don’t have this in your collection, I highly recommend you to check this out!

NARS Lipstick in Niagara
My lovely friend pearlessence bought this for me (and the next lipstick as a matter of fact). I JUST realized that this and Revlon Pink in the Afternoon are basically dupes! If I have to be nic-picky, Niagara is weeeee bit more coral, just a weeeenzy bit. I love the formula of this lipstick, it’s creamy, non-drying and colour payoff is great. NARS lipsticks do have a slight candy-like scent, it smells almost like Rockets (or Smarties for those of you in the USA), which I totally don’t mind.

NARS Lipstick in Beautiful Liar
This is a shade that’s quite different from anything else in my collection. Its a brown-red colour with fine gold glitter. It looks almost metallic, but the glitters are so fine that you won’t feel it on the lips. Another lovely fall colour and I foresee that this will get a lot of use in the following months… after I’m done this challenge!

11 thoughts on “Lipstick Challenge Round Up Weeks 5 & 6

  1. I went through your previous posts and this is a fun idea! I haven’t really attempted anything like this. Most of the time there’s something new I’ve got to test out, but I do enjoy going through my stash to see if I can rediscover something! I have recently rediscovered a couple of limited edition Guerlain plums. I didn’t enjoy them all that much because I didn’t have adequate blush colors to pair with them. Now that I do, I’ve been taking them out quite often!

    • I imagine it’s super hard to keep going back to old stash when you have lots of new products to test! Ohhh plums are lovely for fall/winter! I’m glad you rediscovered some products! 🙂 It’s like shopping again… without the dent in the wallet!

      • Exactly! Also, tastes and preferences evolve. It’s nice to see I have broadened my horizon another bit and actually LIKE plums 😉

  2. After all, you were the one who got me started on lip products. I can’t believe how many lip products I own now! I had to actively put a lip tint back on the shelf today at the mall because I was sure I have enough…

    • Aww thanks! And I guess you are right! Every shade is a little different, and every formula is different… there’s always an occasion for a certain lipstick, right? :p

      I love the Revlon Lip Butters, although I think Maybelline Color Whispers are starting to steal my heart… Have you tried those before?

Leave a Reply

