Favourite Everyday Lip Colours

Favourite Everyday Lip Colour

Left to Right:
Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Pink Sizzle (810)
Maybelline Color Whisper in Rose of Attraction (75)
Maybelline Color Whisper in Pin Up Peach (30)
Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm Blush Twist in (210)
Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm Coral Twist in (235)
MAC Lipstick in Fanfare

Sorry for the super-mega long hiatus I look from blogging! Life got pretty busy and there are other priorities… you know? But I’m back and today I bring you a post on my favourite everyday lip colours.

I have gone through so many different phases with lip colours – super brights, coral, lip gloss, you name it. Since school has started again, I have been getting lazy with putting make up on (I blame early classes), but lip colour is something I consistently go for, since it’s such an easy way to pretend you didn’t wake up 5 minutes before, after snoozing the alarm 20 times. Here’s a list of lip colours I’ve been reaching for lately.

1. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Pink Sizzle (810)

Oh gawd. Where do I start? I don’t think there’s anything I do not like about this lipstick. It’s drug-store so it’s affordable ($5.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart when on sale). It’s a gorgeous colour – pink with hints of coral and rose. Probably the best “my lips but better” colour I have. It is quite sheer but the colour definitely still shows up on the lips. There’s no shimmer in it, but because it’s a shine formula, it looks glossy on the lips. It’s not drying at all, I would even go as far as saying it’s actually quite moisturizing on my lips. It is scent- and taste-free. Lasting power is average, around 3 hours on my lips. I feel like next time this goes on sale I need to go grab ten a back up.

2. Maybelline Color Whisper in Rose of Attraction

This is another absolute favourite that I hope I never run out. It is sheerer than the Revlon lipstick I mentioned, but the colour can be built up if you want to. Again, another drug-store gem, it goes for anywhere from 5.99 to 10.99 depending on where you get it from. It’s a cooler tone pink, but since it’s so sheer, it will work for any skin tone. I usually look like shit terribad with cool toned pink, but I am in love with this one. It has really tiny gold shimmer in it, but it’s super fine and I can’t feel it on my lips (no one wants gritty glitter on their lips), and it doesn’t really show on the lips, but it gives a nice sheen to the colour. It does have a slight scent and taste, but nothing really noticeable at all.

3. Maybelline Color Whisper in Pin Up Peach

Can you tell I love the Color Whisper line? Pin Up Peach is very similar to Rose of Attraction, except the colour (no duh). It’s definitely more coral (and hence warm toned), but it’s no where close to a peach/orange colour. Super love this one too. I am tempted to go out and buy the whole Color Whisper line because they are THAT ah-mazing. Oh, and don’t forget to gush over the absolutely stunning packaging.

4. Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm Blush Twist in (210)

These days it seems like everyone and their mother are putting out jumbo lip liner/crayon/balm/gloss/whatever. I haven’t tried too many of them, but I do really like the Covergirl ones. Blush Twist looks pretty similar to Pin Up Peach, but it is more pink. It’s almost somewhere in between the two Color Whispers (Rose of Attraction and Pin Up Peach) in terms of colour. The formula is not as moisturizing or creamy as the previously mentioned lip colours, but it also lasts longer because of that. It smells a bit like your typical old school lipsticks, but it’s a fainter scent.

5. Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm Coral Twist in (235)

This is definitely the brightest of the bunch. I go for this when I feel slightly more adventurous with my lip colour. But because it is not a fully opaque lipstick, it’s still perfect for everyday wear. Formula is pretty consistent with Blush Twist.

6. MAC Lipstick in Fanfare

The most expensive of the bunch ($18 CAD). Fanfare has a brown-er hue compared to the other lip colours here. It’s a cremesheen formula so it goes on very creamy, and has fantastic colour pay off. It’s definitely the most opaque of the bunch, but I think it’s great for the transition into fall. It has the typical MAC lipstick scent that is vanilla-y. This is probably my favourite MAC lipstick since the formula is amazing, it’s super easy to wear, and goes with anything and everything!

Whew! So that’s the rotation of lip colours I’m going through now, what are your staple everyday lipsticks?

 

9 thoughts on “Favourite Everyday Lip Colours

  1. Rose of Attraction is one of my current favourites too, and I can barely see any glitter on my lips thank goodness!! I’m hoping another sale will pop up so I can try some other colours! I’m using a clinque chubby lipstick pencil right now, and it looks similiar to the covergirl one, I need to pick some up too 😀 glad to see you’re blogging again!!!

    • I have never tried the Clinique chubby sticks. But I heard that’s what inspired all the drugstore jumbo lipstick/lip colour! Let me know how they compare with the drugstore ones if you try the Covergirl ones! 🙂

Leave a Reply

