R+S: Revlon Chroma Chameleon Nail Enamel – Topaz

PhotoGrid_1367531571703Today I have another polish I received from Revlon Selects to share. It’s the Chroma Chameleon Nail Enamel in the shade Topaz.

Topaz is a gorgeous multi-chrome that’s a mix of green, blue, and gold depending on how the light hits it. I think the green is the most dominant shade here, the blue is not nearly as strong as green but it comes through sometimes (eg on my thumb in the above picture). Application is beautiful. I was a little worried because it looked pretty watery, but one coat is almost opaque, and two coats is enough for complete opaqueness. It wasn’t streaky at all. It’s probably one of the most easily applied polish I have in my stash.

I have always been intrigued by multi-chrome (or duochrome) polishes, but never picked one up because I don’t think I will wear it much. But this polish is so pretty it makes me want to pick up a couple more shades in the range (there are 8 in total).  Also, I love the packaging!

These should be available in store now (or in the very near future). I believe I’ve seen it around for $9.99, but one catch is that this polish is only 8.6ml (versus 15ml for most full size polishes).

Have you tried any Chroma Chameleon Nail Enamel by Revlon? What is your favourite multi- or duo-chrome polish?

Disclaimer: I was sent this item by the manufacturer, but all opinions are my own honest opinions. (After all I started this blog to share my experiences with products with fellow beauty-lovers)

 

7 thoughts on “R+S: Revlon Chroma Chameleon Nail Enamel – Topaz

  1. I picked up the Aquamarine Revlon Chroma Chameleon nail enamel, and the colour is fantastic (the base blue reminds me a lot of Sephora by OPI’s Mermaid to Order) but I found it really THIN.
    I have two coats on right now, and it’s still very transparent – I think I’ll need 4 coats to get a decent opacity and not just think that the pink ‘shift’ of the duochrome is my nail beds under the colour…
    I did wear two coats over top of Mermaid to Order, and liked that – I think I’ll try another coloured base under this next time I have bare nails and see if a dark base makes the shift of colour pop more.
    I got it shortly after the similarly duochrome Sephora X in Deranged (a pink-purple, and I would say it is less streaky, and lower in price (though also a smaller bottle).

    • Oh no!I I wonder if the formula is just inconsistent across the range. I’ve actually never tried any Sephora polishes! How do you like them?

      • It might be.. though that would be a shame. I’ve found that once or twice with other reviews though – someone will mention a polish is thick…and I’ve found it normal… or the reverse like in this case.

        I do like the Sephora-OPI polishes in general.. I can’t really say WHY though…. Most of the polishes I’ve tried have been OPI polishes…

        Oh.. and since posting here – I tried the Aquamarine over Curvalicious (a true red from Sephora-OPI) and although I found it a little bit streaky (only one coat to start off) it DEFINITELY makes the colour shift pop a LOT more… (of course, the shift is from aqua to red/purple.. so the red undercoat helps a lot..)

      • Ohh I should try to layer the polish with a undercoat! I have never tried that. I wonder if it’d make Topaz pop even more…

      • I bet it would… you could try it over a teal to bring out the third-colour I can see in the shadow of your thumb.. or go for the green or gold. Then just one coat of the topaz… (I like the teal best, and have teal polish.. hence that’s my first thought. Mind you.. I have gold too.. LOL)

Leave a Reply

