MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study Review & Swatch

Bare Study is the first MAC Paint Pot ($22CAD for 5g) I’ve tried, and I have to say I’m glad I finally got onto the whole Paint Pot bandwagon!

MAC describes Paint Pot as “a highly pigmented eye colour that goes on creamy but dries to an intense, vibrant finish. Long-wearing, colourfast. Creates seamless coverage without weight or caking. Blends smoothly over the lids. Cream-based, can be mixed with M·A·C shadows and liners.” Basically paint pots are cream shadows that dry to a powder finish.

Bare Study is described as a “soft beige with gold pearl” by MAC. I think it’s a pretty accurate description, but I can also see a hint of salmon-y colour in it. In terms of pigmentation, I don’t think it’s “highly pigmented” as MAC describes it to be, but it does have pretty okay pigmentation, and it’s definitely buildable. It can be used on it’s own as an eyeshadow, or as a eyeshadow base when you put powder shadow on top. When used as a base, it increases the pigmentation of the powder shadow, making it more vibrant. When used alone, Bare Study gives a gorgeous wash of colour on the lids.

Bare Study feels very creamy and smooth, and goes on the lids easily. You can swipe it on and get a sheer wash of colour, or pat it on for a more intense finish. Without primer, Bare Study starts to fade and crease after 3-4 hours (I have oily lids), but when used with a primer (I used Urban Decay Primer Potion), it starts to fade after 8-9 hours, but does not crease at all.

MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study

Ingredient List for Bare Study

Swatch on Forearm: Left: Unblended; Right: Blended.

tl:dr version: Bare Study is a cream-to-powder eyeshadow with pretty good pigmentation, can be worn alone or as a base to boost vibrancy of other shadows. Good wear time when worn with primer.

Disclaimer: All products mentioned are purchased by myself, and everything I said are my honest opinions! I am not affiliated with any of the aforementioned companies.

2 thoughts on “MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study Review & Swatch

  1. I love colours like these! You’re getting me tempted to get one too! But….I must stay away from eyeshadow products because I barely use them! Can this be used as a highlighter too! Would love putting this everywhere that needs highlighting!!

    • Haha oops! I realized I need to stop buying more eyeshadows now that I look around and see how many I have… It would definitely work well as a brow highlight, as for other places that needs highlight… I don’t see why not as long as your skin doesn’t break out from it (I haven’t tried it myself because I have other face highlighters)!

Leave a Reply

