MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation Review

MAC Studio Sculpt Foundation ($36.5CAD for 40ml) is actually the first (and only) MAC foundation I’ve ever tried. I was looking for a full coverage cream foundation when I was at MAC, and the SA suggested this and matched me with NC25. (Woohoo! I finally know what MAC shade I am!)

MAC describes this foundation as a creamy, gel-based foundation with medium to high coverage. It is also supposed to be hydrating. Now I have a question.. is gel-based foundation the same thing as cream foundation? Because I was looking for a cream foundation and this was recommended to me. Anyways, back to the actual foundation. It has quite a strong scent to it, an almost paint-like smell, although it’s not noticeable when applied. It is harder to spread than all the liquid foundations I’ve tried (MUFE HD, Lancome Ultra Teint Idole, and LM Tinted Moisturizer). It does provide superb coverage (better than MUFE HD), and lasted all day (which is 8+ hours in my books), even after an hour of intense table tennis. It was also great for controlling oil on my T-zone, yet still being moisturizing. Also, I like how it has SPF!

I had some problem with application in the beginning. When I first got it, I squeezed out some foundation on the back of my hand, and dipped my Sigma F80 brush, then dotted it on my face and buffed it in. It looked quite unnatural and I put this foundation aside for a little bit, until I went to a MAC foundation class, where the make up artist used a flat foundation brush to apply it. So I gave this foundation another go, this time using a flat foundation brush like the Sigma F60 foundation brush (I can’t justify buying MAC brushes), and it looked really natural! So this foundation can look really natural if applied properly (and still have great coverage).

Left: Sigma F80 Flat Top Synthetic Kabuki Brush; Right: Sigma F70 Foundation Brush (Sorry for the dirty brush!)

On my face, this foundation does feel more heavy than other, possibly because it “clings” better to the skin providing the great wear time. I don’t think I will be using this for everyday application because of this reason, but it’s definitely the foundation I will opt for for special events!

Package wise, the foundation is housed in a plastic see-through squeeze tube, with a black twist off cap. So far I have no problem with the packaging at all.

MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation Packaging

tl:dr version: Great coverage foundation with equally great wear time, best applied with a flat foundation brush, has a strong scent, feels heavy on skin, probably better for special events than everyday wear.

Studio Sculpt Foundation Swatches on Forearm. Left: unblended; Right: blended

Ingredient List:
OCTINOXATE 7.00% W/W P/P [] TITANIUM DIOXIDE 2.00% W/W P/P INGREDIENTS: WATER\AQUA\EAU [] CYCLOPENTASILOXANE [] GLYCERIN [] BUTYLENE GLYCOL [] OCTYLDODECYL NEOPENTANOATE [] PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE [] POLYMETHYLSILSESQUIOXANE [] ISOSTEARIC ACID [] C4-24 ALKYL DIMETHICONE/DIVINYLDIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER [] ISONONYL ISONONANOATE [] DIMETHICONE [] DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE [] CAPRYLYL GLYCOL [] PHENOXYETHANOL [] SODIUM CHLORIDE [] POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE [] CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE [] HEXYL LAURATE [] PHYTANTRIOL [] POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE [] BETA VULGARIS (BEET) ROOT EXTRACT\BETA VULGARIS\EXTRAIT DE RACINE DE BETTERAVE [] METHICONE [] STEARIC ACID [] ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE [] PROPYLENE CARBONATE [] TOCOPHERYL ACETATE [] CELLULOSE GUM [] DEXTRIN PALMITATE/ETHYLHEXANOATE [] DEXTRIN PALMITATE [] HABERLEA RHODOPENSIS LEAF EXTRACT [] XANTHAN GUM [] BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER) [] PALMITIC ACID [] SODIUM HYALURONATE [] OCTYLDODECYL PCA [] DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL [] HEXYLENE GLYCOL [] TOCOPHEROL [] TETRAHEXYLDECYL ASCORBATE [] YEAST EXTRACT\FAEX\EXTRAIT DE LEVURE [] QUERCUS SUBER BARK EXTRACT [] TAMARINDUS INDICA SEED EXTRACT [] [+/- MICA [] TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891) [] IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) [] CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS (CI 77288)] <ILN37719>

Have you tried out MAC foundations? Which one do you like best?

Disclaimer: All products mentioned are purchased by myself, and everything I said are my honest opinions! I am not affiliated with any of the aforementioned companies.

7 thoughts on “MAC Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation Review

  1. I shall add this to my list of future liquid foundations to try while hunting! I like the heavy coverage of it…since I kind of want one for special occasions! Really need a liquid foundation 😦
    whats the diff between gel and cream and liquid foundation?

    • I have no idea what’s the difference between gel and cream actually… since I asked for a cream and they recommended a gel-based for me… so I am confused too! The main difference I find between gel-based and liquid foundation is how easily it can spread. Liquid foundation is very easy to spread (since it’s liquid duh), and hence a lot easier to blend, on the other hand, gel-based (at least this one) is harder to spread around, and harder to blend, but I find that it has higher coverage and last longer!

      Maybe you can go to MAC, maybe get them to try it on your face, then walk around the mall and see how you like it before you buy it!

      • Ohh that’s a good idea! I need to start doing that… since I often spend over $50 at MAC. Sigh. Would you happen to know if MAC has brow shaping services?

      • No idea sorry 😦 I don’t go in often enough haha >_>
        I only know Benefit always have a “brow bar” …but I’m too scared to get my eyebrows done.

      • Np! I’m not sure where it is in your area, we have a store that’s similar to Sephora, called Murale, with a brow bar- but I’m not sure who actually does the brows, actual Benefit ppl or just sales associates who works there!

Leave a Reply

