What’s in My Makeup Bag?

I am currently out of town but wanted to type a blogpost… and all I have with me is my makeup bag so I decided to do a quick post about what’s in my makeup bag! Also, I just got a new makeup bag and I am completely in love with it, so I just wanted to show you guys. 🙂

I got a makeup bag from forever 21 a couple days ago when I went shopping with my sister. It was at those “baskets” at the check out. I am a huge sucker for anything black and white (except checkers), and I just think this bag is the perfect size and it’s easy to clean! My old one is absolutely disgusting since my MUFE foundation had a mini explosion. I believe I got this for $6.80CAD.

New makeup bag!

I think I will start with my face makeup first. I have my Kiehl’s Superfluid SPF50 sunscreen. I have been absolutely anal about wearing sunscreen everyday, even if it’s cloudy out. I love this sunscreen so much, and I think I will repurchase this when I run out, because it feels so lightweight on my skin, and doesn’t leave me face sticky at all. It barely feels like I’m wearing any sunscreen!

Kiehl’s Superfluid SPF50 sunscreen (Sorry the label’s destroyed!)

Another staple is my Too Face Primed & Poreless Face Primer. I got this last December and have been using it everyday since. It turns my face into a smooth canvas for me to put make up on. It helps prolong the wear of makeup on me, but I don’t think it does too too much in minimizing my pores.

Too Face Primed & Poreless Face Primer

The foundation I have been using lately is the Make Up For Ever HD foundation. I use this in the shade 118. I got this around a year and a half ago I think. I have been switching up my foundation between then and now so I stil have around half left. I really like this foundation because it gives me good coverage, it’s really blendable, and most of my pores are gone after I apply this!

Make Up For Ever HD foundation

I set my foundation with the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in the shade Sandstorm. It does set my makeup quite well, and it used to be very good at keeping my face (especially T-zone) matte. However I noticed recently that it’s not working as well… maybe it’s time for me to try another face powder after I’m done this one (this is my second one)!

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in the shade Sandstorm

As for bronzer, I am using Rimmel’s Natural Bronzer in Sunlight. It’s a matte bronzer. I like how it doesn’t make me look orange, and I like using it for contouring. I don’t usually use a bronzer all over my face since I don’t tend to go for that “tanned” look. So excited that I hit pan on this, but I don’t think I will repurchase simply because I have a mini Laguna to use up, and I want to try the NYC bronzer next!

Rimmel’s Natural Bronzer in Sunlight (Label’s all gone :><)

For concealing my under-eye circles, I use the Bobbi Brown Corrector and Creamy Concealer Kit. I use the corrector in the Bisque and the concealer kit in Warm Beige. I absolutely love these products! Don’t think I ever want to part with this. I even bought back ups in HK because they are so so much cheaper there!

Bobbi Brown Corrector in Bisque

Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer Kit in Warm Beige

Before I use my corrector and concealer, I use the YSL Touche Eclat highlighter (2.5) to highlight my under-eye area. I learnt this during my “foundation class” in MAC in Hong Kong. The makeup artist did that and it looked so much better. Apart my under-eye area, I also use this to down my nose, on my brow bones, and around my nose. I don’t think I will repurchase because 1. the price tag is steep (I got it with a $10 off coupon); 2. I don’t think what it does for me is worth that money. I will be trying the MAC one, or even some drugstore ones next.

Touche Eclat Highlighter in 2.5

Oh and before I use the highligher, I have been trying out the mini Smashbox Photo Finish Hydrating Under Eye Primer that I got from Sephora a couple days ago. So far I don’t think it’s doing much for me at all… but we will see.

Smashbox Photo Finish Hydrating Under Eye Primer

Next up is eye makeup. I use the Urban Decay Primer Potion (original) to prime my eyes. Love this stuff, but I have a quite a few other eye primers so I will aim to finish them before I decide if I will repurchase. I have heard a lot about the NARS one and since I have a mini one I am excited to try it!

Urban Decay Primer Potion (original)

I got my first MAC Paint Pot when I was in HK. It’s in the shade Bare Study. I apply this all over my lid, then add a darker colour at the outer 1/3 then blend it up my crease. I love how this looks on my lids, the way it looks when the light hits it is gorgeous! It also makes the colour of any eyeshadow I put on top shine!

MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study

I carry a MAC custom quad of eyeshadows with me. I have a 15 shadow palette at home, and I just switch up the colors occasionally. What I have here is what I have most of the time. Ricepaper for highlight, Satin Taupe for the outer 1/3, Star Violet instead of Satin Taupe if I want a some colour, and lastly Concrete for filling in my brows. I love all these shadows and would recommend it to everyone!

MAC Shadows, starting top left, clockwise:
Ricepaper, Satin Taupe, Concrete, Star Violet

For eyeliner, I use my MAC fluidline in Blitz & Glitz. It’s a softened black with gold microglitters in it. The microglitters are basically invisible once you apply the liner. I am in love with gel liner and I would like to repurchase this, but I have 6 other gel liners at home that I need to use up. I’m excited to see if Bobbi Brown gel liner is as good as the MAC fluidline!

MAC Fluidline in Blitz & Glitz

I am currently using Covergirl ExactEyeLights mascara in Black Sapphire. I love how it lengthens my lashes without clumping them, and it has a bit of a volumizing effect. It doesn’t really show up as blue on my lashes because my lashes are black, but I got this just because it was in a bonus pack with an eyeshadow, so I didn’t really care about if the blue shows up.

Covergirl ExactEyeLights mascara in Black Sapphire

For blush, I am using NARS Liberte. I absolutely love NARS blushes, and this shade is perfect for summer because it’s coral-pink. It gives my cheeks a gorgeous flush of colour, without making me look like a clown.

NARS Blush in Liberte

I only have one lip product in there, and it’s the NARS lipstick in Niagara. I totally forgot to get a picture of it.. but I am planning on doing a review on it so yeah.. my bad! By the way it was a gift from pearlessence and I absolutely love it!

I also have a random comb in my makeup bag, and a tweezer… just because I can.

Randoms!

What’s in your makeup bag? I would love to hear about that because I’m nosy like that! :p

Disclaimer: All products are purchased by myself, with the exception of a gift as stated above. All opinions are my own! 🙂

9 thoughts on “What’s in My Makeup Bag?

  1. I always wanted to try MUFE HD foundation! btw- love that you put copyright on your pictures, I should do that too..I’m just so lazy in editing..but I already use photoshop to scale the resolutions of my pictures anyway >_<
    I haven't tried the smashbox primer yet..hope it works D:

    Hmmmmm what do I carry…well right now I just carry lip balm/lip sticks/mirror and a mini josie maran argan oil colored stick in my purse..but if I go on vacation/swimming I carry my Bare Minerals foundation, my travel sized Benefit High Beam, and mini/sample sized- mascara from GWPs, a sample sized perfume in case I stink on a hot day LOL

    • I didn’t really like the MUFE foundation when I first tried it… but now that I’m going back to using it… I fell in love with it!

      I started doing the copyright thing because I started scaling my pictures… I realized they’ve been taking up too much space! Also I found this font that I love… so yeah haha!

      Man I need to stop bringing so much stuff with me when I go out of town! At least I don’t carry my makeup bag when I go work or shop! I’m too lazy to bring a perfume with me because the only perfume I wear is the MAC one.. and I don’t have a small version. Maybe I should consider getting the roller ball…

      • LOL omg I thought it was your handwriting! I’ve been scaling my pix too..my friend said I was wasting a lot of space for no reason haha.

        Awww…we have this giant japanese $2 store (though some bigger household items have been upped) and they sell mini atominzers the size of my pinky and I fill it up with my own body scent…but I also have a LOT of those freebie perfumes (some from Luxebox ==) so I figure I might as well carry them around.
        Hmmm maybe I’ll ask for a sample of the MUFE foundation next time 😀 I really want to get a liquid one…..

      • Haha I wish my handwriting was that good! I have terrible handwriting… which is why I got into medical school! Just kidding lol!

        Ohhhh I think I’ve seen atomizers at dollarama too.. maybe I should try using that. I feel like I’d just be too lazy to use it anyways lol. I’m hopeless. I also am super picky about perfume and I don’t like any of the perfume samples I have (which is A LOT)… so they are just sitting there collecting dust!

        Do it! Let me know how you like the foundation! I didn’t really love it when I first used it… but now that I’ve went back to it I”m totally in love! I’m only ever used liquid foundation actually.

      • Haha! Hmm, I DO recall my prescriptions have really illegible writing on it. I wonder how pharmacists can decipher that 😛
        I got so many perfume samples from Luxebox (GRRR) they’re collecting dust too. I did like a couple of the Marc Jacob ones and Vera Wang, but I dislike anything too floraly.

        What made you not like the foundation at first?

      • I think it’s from experience! Actually for a lot of meds as long as you can read the beginning and end it’s good lol!

        Yeah I have some Marc Jacobs and Vera Wang ones too… I think they are too sweet for me 😦

        For the foundation… I think it was probably just because it was my first “high-end” foundation, and I had a lot of expectations, and I did not know how to do make up properly, so I think it wasn’t as “natural” as I thought it would be. But now that I am better at applying make up, and tried a few other high end foundations, I really appreciate the MUFE one!

  2. You’re so smart to include sunscreen in your make up bag! If my bag were bigger/I used a smaller sunscreen bottle I would strongly consider doing the same.. instead I just use mine in the morning as part of my morning routine..

    Is this your daily make up bag, or your travel bag though? For daily, I don’t have a bag… I just have my shelves.. which are overflowing! I do keep a little bag at work, just for touch ups, and those days when I go to work without makeup on, and then need to ‘put on my face’ for an impromptu meeting or spontanious after-work plans..

    In that kit I keep a cream foundation (Covergirl I think), a powder (the same Rimmel you use) and kabuki brush (Sephora brand), lip balm (Oh Canada! Soapworks), black mascara (Covergirl I think), waterproof black eyeliner (one of the Shoppers lines), black eyeshadow powder, red eyeshadow powder (both Urban Decay) (I’m a wee bit goth), plus a pale pink-purple-grey eyeshadow (Kore – a Canadian brand) and a slightly glittery pink (Too Faced I think).

    wheetnee – would that 2$ be Daiso? heehee.. when I was in Vancouver visiting some friends, that was top of their list to visit. They have one in Seattle too – but it’s not nearly as good IMO.

    • It’s actually my travel makeup bag! For everyday use I just throw everything I use in a bin! I’ve been religious about using sunscreen since I discovered the Kiehl’s one. It’s THAT amazing.

      I have never heard of the brand Kore, how do you like their shadows?

      • I don’t even know if Kore is still around! They were out of Winnipeg, and did great basics… I bought mine when I was working at DICIB – which is also out of business now. 😦 http://www.dicib.com/dark/makeup/Kore/index.htm I liked their shadows a lot – never did try their lipsticks, pencils, foundations or pigments though. The colours of the shadows seemed nicely saturated to give good coverage and the depth of colour that I was looking for. Talking to the owner/sales rep she also said that all of them could be used wet or dry I think, so that was a nice aspect too… though I think I only tried wet with one of them..
        Hmm I’ll have to keep an eye out for the Kiehl’s sunscreen – where did you get it? Scent is a big thing for me with cosmetics and other products (I’m so sensitive to chemical smells) so I hardly ever purchase any product likely to have scent sight-unseen online…

Leave a Reply

