Project Pan – The Beginning

As you all know, I have had quite a number of huge hauls (what I posted is a only the tip of the iceberg) these past few weeks I’m in Korea and Hong Kong. Both in terms of skincare and make up. So I have decided to start my Project Pan now that I’m heading back to Canada tomorrow!

For those of you who are not familiar with Project Pan, it’s basically a project where you go on a beauty product shopping ban until you have used up or hit pan on X number of products. I think it’s a great way to save money and downsize my collection at the same time. I first heard about Project Pan from Amarixe (click here for her blogpost). “Project Pan” was first coined by lollipop26, who was a youtube guru, but she stopped making videos a while ago (but she is still blogging here).

I am the kind of person that cannot pass on a great deal, and over time I have accumulated a bunch of products even before my trip. After my trip, I have an absolutely ridiculous amount of products, and I feel terrible about buying all these things and not using them up. So here I am, starting my own Project Pan!

I originally wanted to do a Project 20 Pan, but I want to use up as many products as I can endure doing this (for at least 20 products), so I am just leaving it as project pan. The general rule is to finish x number of products before buying any new ones, but I have a few of my own additional “rule” to make this fit myself better.

1. I will be including hair care, skin care and beauty products. If I only do beauty products, I will NEVER (and I mean it) finish it.
2. I will include travel size items, but not samples or deluxe samples (Makes sense right? Plus I am thinking of doing one for samples later anyways.)
3. There are some types of products that I only have one of (eg setting powder), so if I finish that, I will allow myself to buy a replacement.
4. If a product (eg. gel liner, mascara) dries up, I will not count that product as being “used up”.
5. I will not even allow myself to buy limited edition products, no matter how tempting it is! (I will regret this soon enough I’m sure)

Hopefully I will finish it before the end of the year, because I know I will want to get some beauty products for my holiday shopping! I will be doing updates as I use up products, and maybe with mini reviews too! Have any of you tried Project Pan? I would love to hear/read about your experience!

10 thoughts on “Project Pan – The Beginning

  1. Good luck! I’m trying to finish a face cream and a shiseido toner right now and I’m almost done ๐Ÿ˜€ makeup lasts forever… I probably need 5 years before I hit pan

  2. This is a great idea! My beauty collection is currently out of control. My poor fiance has lost all real estate in the bathroom because my hair/skin/makeup products have completely taken over. Perhaps I need to embark on my own Project Pan…

    • Awww it’s a good thing guys don’t really need much space in the bathroom for their products anyways :p Good luck if you are starting a project pan! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! Good luck with yours too! Although it looks like you are doing an amazing job at it! ๐Ÿ™‚ It feels good knowing there are other bloggers also doing this! I think mine is going to take MONTHS!

  3. Angel :
    I donโ€™t know! I hope not LOL! I donโ€™t know how do people hit pan so quickly for eyeshadows!!

    I don’t know how people manage to go through eyeshadow so fast either. It seems to take forever to hit pan. Lipstick or lip products are another thing that people seem to go through really fast and yet it for me it seems to take forever.

    • I agree! It takes me forever to use lip products! Like they look like they haven’t really been used even if I use them everyday… I wonder if people just reapply a lot everyday?! lol!

Leave a Reply

