Skincare, Make up, Nail Polish Haul

Okay. One last haul (for a couple days)! I left the housing thinking I won’t buy anything… and yet here we are. Such bad self discipline. tsktsk. I blame my friend for showing me this amazing “up stairs store”… and it all started there.

Essie and OPI polishes aren’t widely available in Hong Kong, especially Essie. So when my friend showed me this place, both her and I were super ecstatic. It’s a tiny tiny “store” in a random building in Mong Kok that sells basically the whole selection of OPI, Essie, China Glaze, and some Zoya and Jessica nail polishes. I wish I took pictures, but here’s a site that explains more about this store! Anyways, I found an Essie polish that I’ve been looking for since around a year ago, the shade “Borrowed and Blue”. It’s from the wedding collection back in 2011. It’s a super pretty baby blue colour. I have never been able to find it in stores (well it’s from a collection, so it’s understandable), and eBay prices were not as good as I would like, so I basically gave up, until I saw it in this place! Essie polishes are $70HKD each (roughly $9CAD), which is comparable to Canadian prices (after tax), but the selection is AMAZING. I think I might head back there to get more polishes so I will see if I can get some pictures of the awesomeness.

The only other nail colour I got was Essie’s Mojito Madness. (That required some serious determination of putting 4 polishes back on the rack.) It’s a colour in Essie’s summer 2012 collection. It’s a kelly green, with a cream finish. I love this colour and can’t wait to paint my nails!

Essie Polishes
Top: Mojito Madness
Bottom: Borrowed and Blue

I also got two other nail polish related products. First is the Essie Matte About You top coat. It’s a mattifying top coat. I feel like I’m hopping on this matte polish bandwagon way too late, but oh well! I got it for $90HKD (~$12CAD). And I also got Seche Restore, which is a nail polish thinner. My Seche Vite top coat is disgustingly glooppy right now, and I’m too cheap to throw it out, so hopefully this will “restore” my Seche Vite! It was $90HKD.

Left: Seche Restore; Right: Essie Matte About You

My friend and I walked past SaSa afterwards, and we got sucked in. I picked up the Fairydrops Platinum Mascara. It has 5 treatment essence added to it. I have no idea what these essence do (or if they do anything at all). I picked it up because I’ve always wanted to try Fairydrops mascara, but can’t justify the price at Sephora ($28CAD?! You kidding me?!). This is not the one that’s sold in Sephora, but it has the same type of weird brush, and the best part is that it was only $105HKD (~$14CAD), and I got 5% off because I showed my student card (yes Canadian student card worked wooooot!).

Fairydrops Platinum Mascara

Another thing I picked up at SaSa was a Revlon Lip Butter. Now, I already own 4 lip butters, but there’s this shade that’s not available in Canada, so I had to get it even if it’s more expensive here ($98HKD, ~$13CAD). It’s in the shade Macaroon. It’s a gorgeous pink red that reminds me of a shade that I already own (maybe berry smoothie?), but with shimmer. I don’t know if I’m crazy or what, but I think the lipstick smells a little like macaroon…

Revlon Lip Butter in Macaroon

We walked past Bonjour (a store similar to SaSa), well I meant we walked into Bonjour. I picked up two lip balms for my mom. She really liked them but they are not available in Canada. It’s by the Japanese brand Yumei. The box packaging is the same as what my mom uses, but the actual lip balm packaging looks really different. It used to be a classy silver tube, and now it’s this kiddy white bubbly tube… well I hope the lip balm is still as good!

Yumei Lipbalm

The rest of my haul is basically more skin care. I just got back from a shopping trip in Korea, so I already have like a luggage full of skin care, BUT! There’s this one Korea brand that I could not find in Korea (does that even make sense?!), and I found it in another tiny store in a random building! So I just HAD to get it because I have heard AMAZING things about it. Its the UGB peeling gel! Peeling gel is all the rage in Asia right now, it’s basically a gentler form of exfoliation. When you rub the peeling gel on your dry skin, there will be white “pellets” forming, and that’s your dead skin and such (apparently). I got this for $255 HKD (~34CAD).

UGB Peeling Gel

I also ended up getting the UGB Aqua Cream, because it’s also another much raved about product. It was also $255HKD. A little warning to those of you who are thinking of getting UGB products, be warned that they have a pretty strong ginseng smell, so if you don’t like that smell, maybe this brand isn’t for you.

UGB Aqua Cream

I saw Laneige’s Water Sleeping Pack for $162HKD (~$21CAD, which is cheaper than Korea!), so I had to get it! I was regretting not getting more of this in Korea, so I am really glad I found it here!

Laneige Water Sleeping Pack

So that’s the end of my haul for a little while! Next up would be a food post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Skincare, Make up, Nail Polish Haul

    • Ohh! I didn’t know anything about peeling gel until this time I’m back!

      I tried the sleeping pack already since I had a couple samples of it, and I love it!

Leave a Reply

