Hong Kong Haul Day 2!

The weather is still humid and hot like yesterday, and I am bracing myself for weather like this for the rest of my time in HK, which I hope isn’t true lol! I headed back to Mannings today just because I can (gotta love how convenient it is to get everywhere in HK!), and also did a quick stop-by at a chain department store called Log-On.

At Mannings, I picked up a super adorable set of My Beauty Diary Masks. A lot of you might be familiar with this brand, but for those of you who aren’t, My Beauty Diary is a brand from Taiwan, and their masks are very famous in Asia, and recently in US and Canada too. They are very affordable (around $12USD for 10 sheets if you get them in US or Canada), and there are so so many different types of masks that caters to different needs! They also make other skin care products, like moisturizing mist, cleanser, make up remover etc. My Beauty Diary masks usually sells for $60HKD/box (10 sheets). It com I got this box of 25 masks on sale for $129HKD (~$16USD), and it includes a free lipgloss! This super cute box comes with 8 Black Pearl Masks (which I’ve tried and loved), 8 Arbutin Whitening Masks, and 9 Lemon Vit-C Masks. All these masks have a common property – they are all whitening. Asian girls (esp Chinese, Korean and Japanese) strives for a bright and light complexion, which differs a great deal from a lot of western girls, who are very into tanning right now, and this shows in the products in the Asian market. The box also has a handle on top, how cute!

My Beauty Diary Whitening Mask Set

My Beauty Diary Peach Lip Essence Baby Pink Effect (free with mask set)

The Moisturizing Mist from My Beauty Diary was on sale for $29HKD (~$3.7USD), so I figured why not pick one up and try! Mannings carries two types: Rose and White Peony Brightening Mist, and Orange Blossom and White Lotus Moisturizing Mist. I picked up the latter one. It says to spray this on face after washing, or before/after make up, to allow make up to stay on longer, and moisturize the skin.

My Beauty Diary Orange Blossom and White Lotus Moisturizing Mist

I also got a couple make up products at Mannings. I got a Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Shine Gel Shadow. I don’t think I have ever seen this in North America, which is why I picked it up. I have noticed that most drugstore brands (eg Revlon, Maybelline, L’oreal) are not cheaper in Hong Kong, especially when they are on sale in Canada, so I have decided to avoid getting products from those brands here. However, it seems like there are quite a number of products that are available here, but not in North America, such as this gel shadow. I picked it up in the shade BR-1, which looks a lot like Bad to the Bronze (Maybelline Colour Tattoo). I absolutely love the little pot the shadow comes in! It’s a glass jar that looks a lot like Bobbi Brown Gel Liner, but the cap resembles more like a pop’s screw on cap! I got this on sale for $35HKD (~$4.5USD), which isn’t too bad. It doesn’t say how much product is in there though… interesting.

Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Shine Gel Shadow in BR-1

Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Shine Gel Shadow in BR-1

Next I picked up the Maybelline Lip Smooth Color and Care Tinted Lip Balm. This seems to be another product that is unavailable in North America. I picked it up in the shade Tropical Peach, which is a gorgeous coral pink. From the swatches I did in store, they are quite pigmented for a tinted lipbalm, I am tempted to compare them with Revlon’s Lip Butter in terms of pigmentation. It has a refreshing mint smell to it, I wish it smelled like peaches instead! I got this on sale for $15HKD (~$2USD).

Maybelline Lip Smooth Color and Care Tinted Lip Balm in Tropical Peach

I met up with a friend at Festival Walk in Kowloon Tong, it’s a big mall (it has a skating rink IN it), probably bigger than Eaton Center (I think all major malls in HK are much bigger than Eaton Center lol). It consists of mainly middle to high end stores, especially when it comes to make up (think Chanel, Dior, Guerlain etc). I am bummed to find out that they are pretty much the same price here compared with Canada (after tax), so I think I might stay away from picking them up now, and maybe get them at duty free, or when I get back to Canada (see I am already regretting not picking them up in the airport!) Same goes to brands like Marc by Marc Jacobs, pricing is similar to the after tax price in Canada.

Anyways, I headed to a department store called Log-On, which is part of city’super, a higher end grocery/department store chain in Hong Kong. They carry a lot of products/brands from Japan. I did not spend much time in Log-On today because I had to meet my friend, but I did manage to pick up a powder blush by Canmake. Canmake is a Japanese cosmetic brand, and I haven’t been able to find it in Canada, so I’m glad I managed to find it in HK! I wanted to get some eyeshadows, but they are like a sparkle-fest. I’d say 97% of them have huge amount of glitter in them, I am not talking shimmery, but full-on glitter! So I stayed away from that and looked at blushes. What do I know? All but one blush are super shimmery! So it was an easy decision as to which one I should pick up. I got the only non-shimmery blush, in the shade PW22 (Pink Rose). It’s light to medium pink blush, which is a change for me since I am more of a coral or dusty rose blush kinda girl. It retails for $70HKD (~$9USD). I need to head back to Log-On sometime soon to fully explore their make up section, since I only spent like 10 minutes there!

Canmake Powder Blush in PW22 (Pink Rose)

That concludes day 2 of my make up haul in Hong Kong! I don’t think I’m going to be doing a haul tomorrow, but I am meeting a friend to plan our trip to Korea (which is in 2 days, oops a little last minute), so that’s much more exciting! I already have a huge list of products that I am going to buy in Korea… I am not going to look at my credit card statement until I head back to Canada LOL!

 

6 thoughts on “Hong Kong Haul Day 2!

  1. The Maybelline lip colour packaging looks so asian haha! I love MBD masks, that set looks awesome! I was at an asian superstore couple days ago and saw the lip essence and wondered if it was good! Let me know if it is! I miss HK!

      • Ohh I’ve never tried the apple one! Hmm is it me or the yogurt one smells a little rancid after its on for 20-30 minutes? Maybe I’m imaging things…

        Yeah! They just keep pumping out new masks! Crazy!

    • Omg! I’m going to Korea tomorrow! Anything you suggest me to pick up??

      I am like doing the next couple years worth of shopping this month haha! I am so excited about buying all the good stuff but not excited about seeing credit card bills! LOL!

Leave a Reply

