Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya Review & Swatch

Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya is a gorgeous coral, with fine gold shimmer. This line of lipgloss is described as “Lips that shine with killer colour. This weightless gloss makes lips pop with 5X more shine than patent leather.”

I don’t know if it lives up to the claim of 5x more shine than patent leather (those things are pretty darn shiny already!), but it does give the lips a gorgeous shine. Papaya looks very coral in the tube, but when worn on my lips, it looks more pink than in the tube, possibly because my natural lip colour is bringing out the pink in the shade. The gold shimmer is really subtle, so if you are weary of having a sparkle-fest on your lips (like me), it actually looks more like a creme finish, unless you really stare at it and look for the shimmer. When I saw the colour I immediately thought of MAC ‘s Star Quality, but Papaya is much more coral in comparison, and with shimmer (Star Quality is a creme finish). The formula is non-sticky, which is a great surprise. It takes a couple runs to get even colours, but it glides on the lips easily, without much pooling in the lines. It wore for close to 4 hours on its own. It does not feel drying at all, but after 4 hours, I find the skin on my lips peeling (maybe it’s just me?), which is weird since my lips feel really moisturized the whole time.

I love the packaging, especially the argyle pattern on the top! It makes the lipgloss look like it’s expensive stuff! The applicator is different from any other lipglosses I’ve seen. It’s like a doe-foot applicator, but its flat on both sides (see picture if I am not making sense!). It doesn’t really make it any easier or harder to apply, I find. The lipgloss does have a weird scent, an almost artificial plastic-y smell, but it has a slightly minty taste. But according to Temptalia, the scent does disappear after having the tube open for a couple months (I have only had this tube for less than a week, so I am eagerly waiting for it to be longer so the scent disappear!)

Bottom line: If you are looking for a lipgloss for summer on a budget, and don’t mind a slight scent to it, then you might want to check out Papaya!

Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya

Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya

Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya

Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya

Bare lips vs Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya

Summary 

Packaging: 9.5/10
Pigmentation: 9/10
Lasting Power: 8.5/10
Formula: 9/10
Price: 9/10
Overall: 9/10

Product: Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya (0.20 oz)
Where to Buy: Local drugstores, Walmart
Price: $7.49-$11.99

4 thoughts on “Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya Review & Swatch

  1. Pretty! It doesn’t look too shimmery or anything in the picture! Revlon’s packaging recently makes it feel like you’re buying an expensive, high product,which I like! Does it smell like papya? (I plan to go to Shoppers tomorrow for their 20x the points event and get some drugstore lip products, check out the revlons like you recommended :D)

    • Haha I think the packaging for Revlon Colorburst line is looks even higher-end than MAC’s lipglass!

      It actually smells nothing like papaya, it has a weird artificial scent to it, but it doesn’t really smell like it once its on the lips, and it tastes kind of minty actually.

      Wait… what 20x points event?! (I am so out of the loop for things Shoppers deals!) Does it happen on Sunday too? Or just tomorrow?

      Definitely check out the Revlon colorstay, and colorburst lipsticks, and the colorburst lipglosses! I also really like the lip butters in Red Velvet, Berry Smoothie, and Raspberry Pie! I want to see what you’re getting tomorrow! :p

      • Yeah, MAC doesn’t have that argyle cap right?
        I have some STILA lipglosses I got for some xmas package deal and some of them has a weird scent to it too..one was supposed to have a grape fruit scent..it was weird. but I got a pack of 8 for $25 in Vegas..

        there’s a 20x points event tomorrow!! Spend $50 and get 20x the points. I wanted to get Vichy Sunscreen (or La Roche Posay) so I’m like hmmm might as well spend $50 and get my points! I will def check out Revlon and also covergirl natureluxe products too 😀 😀 I read reviews about the berry smoothie! Hope there’s some left!

      • MAC lip glasses are just a regular round black top!

        I hope the weird scent goes away with time… But it doesn’t bother me too much, which is good.

        Blah I have a CPR class all day tomorrow… Hopefully I can go to shoppers after that! I have no idea what I’m going to get… But I am sure I will have no problem spending $50 on cosmetics at shoppers, since their stuff is so expensive!

Leave a Reply

