Drugstore Makeup Haul

Another haul post… this is what happens when I go to the mall two days in a row. Well I do have an explanation this time, London drugs (a drugstore that’s only in certain provinces in Canada) has a couple for $10 off any $25 purchase of makeup… how can I pass on that?Ā 

I saw Essie’s luxeffects topcoat in Shine of the Times, and I just snatched it and put it in my basket right away, I have been looking for this since December! I didn’t care it wasn’t on sale (it was $9.99), I just needed to have it!

The next thing I grabbed was a Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick, in the shade Fairytale. It was on sale for $6.99 I love the packaging of this lipstick! The shade is a gorgeous warm-based matte pink that has a hint of coral. It looked great when I swatched it on my hand, so I hope it translates as well on my lips!

I also got another Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 HR Eyeshadow. I got this in the shade Audacious Asphalt. At first I thought it was just a simple silver color, but when I swatched it, it looked so much better than in the pot! It’s a blue-based silver that has gold and silver shimmer, which looks a lot more complex when applied!

The last thing I got from London Drugs is an clearance item. It’s a set of Revlon eyeshadow quad and nail polish. The shadow is the Colorstay 16 hour shadow quad, in the shade Adventurous. I honestly don’t see how this shade is adventurous, it’s full of neutrals that will look great on any skin tone for an everyday look. The nail polish was the Revlon Colorstay Longwear Nail Enamel in Red Carpet. I don’t think I have ever seen this line of polish in the store. The first time I saw this was in Allison’s (amarixe) video. So I was a little surprised to see this in the clearance bin. It’s a classic red color, which I don’t really wear much, but for $5.99 (for both shadow and polish), I am not going to pass this. I’m sure I’ll find some time that I will wear it.

I also grabbed another lip product at Walmart. I went to a nearby Walmart another day to find this but all the ones they had were opened, so I was really glad to find unopened ones in the Walmart I went to today. It’s the Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in the shade Papaya. It’s a gorgeous coral with subtle gold shimmer. I saw a swatch on Temptalia and fell in love with this lip gloss! It reminds me a lot of MAC’s Double Dare and Star Quality, which are my two favourite lip glosses!

I swear after this haul… I will keep the amount of shopping to the down low, so I can go crazy when I travel! I have accumulated a bunch of products lately, so I am planning on doing more review posts in the coming weeks, what do you think?

22 thoughts on “Drugstore Makeup Haul

  1. Yay Shine of the Times! I have that coupon saved on my computer too! Gotta check out LD when I have time, but I don’t know what to buy! I have so much stuff already šŸ˜¦
    The covergirl lipstick + revlon lipgloss looks like the perfect summer color! I’m so obsessed with those shades!

    • I have never shopped at LD before! They are not in Ontario! šŸ˜¦

      I had no idea what to buy either.. but I was determined to use it.. LOL! Too bad it doesn’t include clearance items!

      I just tried the lipgloss and I loved it! I find myself comparing the quality (not just the color!) of it with MAC cremesheen glasses… and I love the color! I can totally see myself trying out more colors! (Actually I ordered another one online already… oopsies)

      • =O Really?! I thought Ontario would definitely have something like that, but I didn’t even know only select provinces had LD. Where did you go get them then?
        Wow, I shouldn’t take LD for granted anymore haha, my mom loves that store.
        You can still use the coupon again…it doesn’t expire until May 31! I’m tempted to check out MAC’s hey sailor collection cause I love nautical prints!

      • Nope Ontario doesn’t have it. I’m in Manitoba right now that’s why I have access to LD!

        Oh man I didn’t even THINK about using it again! Thanks for reminding me haha… my mom is going to yell at me, my sister told my mom about what I bought… Argh!

        I actually didn’t find many (if any) items I liked from the Hey Sailor collection! (If you want to see swatches, check out temptalia’s review/swatches! She’s my go-to when there’s a new collection out! http://www.temptalia.com/mac-hey-sailor-review-round-up

        I don’t like how MAC increase the price by $1 if it’s a special packaging.. like this one! As if they are not expensive enough! šŸ˜¦

      • Ooh nice!! How is Manitoba like right now?
        Oops sorry šŸ˜› My mom is already yelling at me so I’m saving up my money now ._.” Oh no! Hide it from your family! But you did get a pretty good deal~ and yeah you can just print the coupon over and over again XD I really want to online shop too, it’s so much more efficient!

        Hm, you’re right there’s nothing outstanding with the sailor collection.I was looking at the lipstick and the only one that caught my eye is similar to my smashbox one…oh well that means I get to save my money! I only own one MAC product haha, the lip primer…which was a waste of money since it’s like an overpriced lip balm -_-”

        Ooh thanks for the link!

      • The weather here has been spectacular for the past week… but it started pouring and thunderstormed last night… (funny thing, when my sister got scared by the thunder, I just told her its Thor and that calms her right down haha!), I’m quite enjoying it here! I do miss Ontario though… especially when I’m going to be in a new city come september!

        Right now when I online shop.. I ship them to my boyfriend in the States so I get all the good deals… I am already worried how I’m going to bring it all back LOL!

        I have uhhhh too many MAC products, especially lipsticks! I have way way way too many lipsticks in general… I did an inventory of my makeup and my jaw dropped when I saw how many lipsticks I have LOL! And np about the link!

      • Haha that’s cute! Who doesn’t love Thor?!

        You’re so lucky! You can take advantage of all the good online shipping deals only for the states. Why does Canada always get such crappy deals for shipping? Guess you’ll have to carry a lot of luggage!

        LOL!…how many do you have?

      • Haha yeah! I don’t understand why we always get shafted shipping. Not only that, some stores don’t even ship to Canada! (eg Ulta.. which has amazing deals!)

        I have uh… lets just say… almost 30 lipsticks… including the ones I get from GWP though!! LOL

      • No idea šŸ˜¦ The last time I checked we still didn’t have em. The lip butters came out pretty much the same as US/ Canada so hopefully we get them soon! I hope you review them šŸ™‚

      • I hope they come out soon!! I will be reviewing them hopefully this week, after I’ve used it a few times! šŸ™‚

  2. wow thanks for all these lovely haul posts! šŸ™‚ they are very helpful and I’m building up my drugstore shopping list for when I return to the states…going to be SO poor after all this traveling šŸ˜¦

    • No problem! I’m glad that they help. I actually already have a huge list of products that I will be buying when I go to the States! I don’t even want to think about how broke I’m going to be… LOL!

  3. i just luxe effects got shine of the times and a cut above recently as well, after seeing them a million times on blogs a such lol…and i love those revlon lip glosses!

    • Now I have 4 out of 5 of the luxeffect top coats! And I love all of them! I’m debating if I should get the last one just for the sake of completing the set… probably not a good rationale haha! How do you like them luxeffect top coats?

      I love the lipgloss! I am already planning on which ones to get next! Which shades do you have it in? I could use some recommendation haha šŸ™‚

      • i haven’t used the top coats yet, i’ve been really lazy with my nails lately since they have been breaking off..they were nice and long for a while :’-( lol…in the lip glosses i have hot pink and fire. when hot pink starts to dry out you can feel some of the glitters, but its nothing unbearable because I love the way it looks on!

      • I need to let my nails rest… but I just can’t stop painting them… šŸ˜¦

        Ohhh bright colours! I like! I used to be into neutral lip colours but lately I’ve been in love with brights!!

Leave a Reply

