Lush Solid Shampoo Squeaky Green Review

I picked this up in a haul a while back after winning a Lush gift card from Magdalena. I was looking to try one of their solid shampoo since I am super curious about how well they work. I asked the SA which one she’d recommend, since I know zilch about them. She recommended Squeaky Green for me, and so I got it!

Here’s the description of Squeaky Green from the Lush website: “Our super herbal shampoo for oily hair is chock full of rosemary, nettle and peppermint purify and care for stressed out, flaky scalps, and antibacterial tea tree keeps your hair and scalp in top condition. Our combination of herbs is very stimulating so we also blend in soothing rose, chamomile and vanilla to calm and balance them out. Clean hair, soothed scalp, and a greener conscience, get Squeaky Green!”

My first question to the SA after she recommended this was… how long does one bar last? I am not ready to spend $10.95 on a bar of shampoo that will only last me a month! She said it will easily last for 6-8 months, which I was really skeptical about, but I decided to trust her and give it a go.

Next I asked her how to use it. I know it’s a stupid question, but I just want to make sure I’m using it properly! So basically you wet your hair, and your hands, and then rub the bar between your hands to lather it up, then transfer the lather to your hair and voila, you have your shampoo! It’s easy as that! This solid shampoo lathers up a lot better than I expected, probably because there’s sodium lauryl sulfate in it.

I can definitely smell (and see) rosemary in this, but not any peppermint! I did not really like the smell at first, but I’ve grown to love it. It definitely smells really herb-y due to the rosemary.

As to how well the shampoo actually works? It definitely cleans my hair. Probably too much. Since I get that “squeaky clean” feeling after I use it. I need to use this with a conditioner, otherwise it leaves my hair kind of dry. But with conditioner, this is an amazing shampoo!

I have been using it for 1.5 months, and it looks like I haven’t touched it yet! Now I really believe what the SA said, that it will last 6-8 months!

It is extremely convenient, and you can purchase a carrying case for easy storage. I didn’t because I just used the cover of my body butter tin to put it on, and when I travel I make sure it’s dry and then put it back into the paper bag it comes with, and off I go! It’s great for travelling since you don’t need to worry about liquid spilling everywhere, and it’s carry-on-friendly!

I am definitely impressed with this solid shampoo, and I will try a new one out after this one is done, which at this rate, doesn’t seem like I will get a new one until 2013 though. LOL!

Have you ever tried solid shampoos from Lush? Which one is your favourite?

8 thoughts on “Lush Solid Shampoo Squeaky Green Review

  1. I wanted to buy one but I wanted to read reviews before I get it!!! Good timing! That’s a pretty good deal.. $10 of shampoo for 6-8 months… Tempted to get it now but I’m worried I’ll dry my hair out too much.. My hair is already disastrous cause I used to straighten it a lot (now I don’t)
    I like how you can carry this anywhere though! Cause sometimes hotel shampoos suck and this would be so handy!

    • Haha yeah! There are tons of other solid shampoo.. they might be less drying than this one! Maybe try to ask the SA and see what they recommended? I am so amazed with how little I’ve used so far though! I seriously thought this would be done in a month!

      • I will check it out next time I go to Lush 🙂 I use shampoos like crazy since my hair is so thick…really need to cut it soon.

      • Let me know how you like them if you end up getting them! Just be sure to condition your hair after! 🙂

        I need a hair cut super bad too… I haven’t cut my hair since… last August? LOL! I had short-ish hair and I’m trying to grow it out… but now I can’t decide if I should keep it long or cut it short!

      • Haha I’m sure it’s not as bad as you describe it! Mine is going okay… it’s just I find I have been losing hair a lot more… 😦

  2. I got the Godiva bar and its the same way, has a great jasmine scent and during washing makes my hair soft but I definitely need conditioner with it!

    • Hmm I wonder if they are all drying like that? I might try to findo one that says it’s moisturizing and try it next time! Dang I was going to try Godiva next too! Maybe that has to wait haha!

      Thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

