Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Primrose Review/Swatch

This is another product I picked up during my haul last Thursday with pearlessence. I am currently going through this lipstick phase where I basically always get a lipstick when I’m at Sephora. Here’s Smashbox’s description for their Be Legendary Lipsticks: “Just one swipe and you’ll see this is the stuff beauty legends are made of. From modern mattes to hydrating creams, our ultra-luxe formula glides on for show-stopping, saturated color every time.”

I picked up the lipstick in the shade Primrose. (Now that I’ve read The Hunger Games, everytime I see the word Primrose that’s all I think about!) It is described as a mauve pink, which I is a pretty fair description. For me, it’s another one of those “my lips but better” colour. It is perfect for everyday wear. It might a little dark/too subtle for summer, so feel free to top it off with a lip gloss for more punch!

Primrose glides on smoothly, and is opaque in one coat. Apart from great pigmentation, it also has a pretty good wear time. It goes for around 3-4 hours on my lips, which is pretty good for a lipstick that glides on so smoothly. I also love how it’s taste and scent free!

Love the packaging!

Ingredient List

Swatch on forearm

Natural lip colour

Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Primrose

I find that Primrose reminded me a lot of MAC’s Fanfare, so I also included a quick comparison of the two here. When the two are side by side, you can see that Fanfare is a bit pinker than Primrose, and less mauve.

Top: MAC Fanfare; Bottome: Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Primrose

Left: Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Primrose; Right: MAC Fanfare

Summary 

Packaging: 10/10
Pigmentation: 9/10
Lasting Power: 9/10
Formula: 9.5/10
Price: 8/10
Overall: 9/10

Product: Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Primrose
Where to Buy: smashbox.comsephora.com, Sephora stores
Price: $19USD/$22CAD

7 thoughts on “Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Primrose Review/Swatch

  1. Primrose looks so much more natural on your lips than mine – it’s pretty obviously pink on me and is a bit striking, I find. I can barely tell the difference between Primrose and Fanfare though!

Leave a Reply

