Wishful Saturday: Prada Totes

I find this a little funny that I am wanting a Prada purse right now. I was never a big fan of Prada, possibly because back when I was in Hong Kong, I have seen way too many fake ones out there, and I feel like if I had one… people would just think it’s fake anyways since it’s everywhere. Another thing is… I haven’t been a huge fan of any of the “famous” luxury brands, eg Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Dior, etc. (I do occasionally enjoy some pieces they put out, I am just saying in general, I am not the biggest fan.) Probably because they are so over-exposed, and getting their bag just seems like I am screaming “look! I have money!”. (Just my personal opinion about how I would feel if I get those bags myself. I can totally understand and see how other people love those bags. Everyone has different tastes!)

I am just a university student who wants a nice bag. I worked when I’m in school, I pay for my rent, tuition, and even my flights to visit home. So I feel like I have the right to splurge on a bag if I really wanted it and can justify it. I want them because of their quality, and I treat them as an investment. If I spend a boatload of money on a bag that I absolutely love, and will last me forever, then I save a lot of money buying cheap, lower quality handbags over the years! Therefore I tend to gravitate toward brands that are just as great as some of the aforementioned brands, but more understated, eg. Balenciaga, Celine.

I was going to pick up the Balenciaga City bag, but the only store in Canada that carries Balenciaga (Holt Renfrew) did not import the colour I want this year! I really wanted Anthracite, but I was so so close to just getting a black one because I really loved the shape of the City. I didn’t end up doing that because if I am going to spend that much on a purse… I better love every.single.thing. about it.

So I was just browsing Neiman Marcus the other day because I was procrastinating (as usual), and this Prada Saffiano Lux Executive Tote just caught my eye. I love how simple, understated it is. Yet it’s so sophisticated and elegant. I love the shape of it, I like how its structured, and big enough to fit everything I need to have.

Prada Saffiano Lux Executive Tote

I also really liked the Chanel Executive Tote, and the Celine Boston Tote… so I found the Prada Saffiano Lux Structured Tote to be another bag that’s screaming “bring me home!”. It’s bigger than the Saffiano Lux Executive Tote, its more of a “square” shape. I’ve just been really into bags that shape lately.

Prada Saffiano Lux Structured Tote

There is one tiny problem with these two bags (for me), they don’t have a shoulder strap. I am mainly looking for a top handle bag, but it would be nice to have an option to wear them as a shoulder bag when I need to free up my hands to do more shopping. And when a bag costs this dang much, it better has everything I am looking for! So this is where the Cervo Zip Top Tote comes in.

The Cervo Zip Top Tote is similar size to the Saffiano Lux Structured Tote, but almost twice as deep (7″ vs 4″), which is a huge bonus. It is also slightly less “structured”, but it’s structured enough for me. I don’t really like slouchy bags, so I really appreciate it when purses are well structured. Most importantly, it comes with a shoulder strap! I will definitely have to check this out next time I head to Holt Renfrew!

Prada Cervo Zip Top Tote

Do you like any of these bags? Is there a purse that you would absolutely love to have right now? Let me know!

(All images from the link directly below each image)

12 thoughts on “Wishful Saturday: Prada Totes

  1. hehe woooo i really like this bag!!!! 🙂 any specific recommendations for Celine bags? I’m trying to find a a nice bag that are versatile enough for both work and daytime chic. It has to have a shoulder strap though hahah 😛

  2. The Cervo bag looks nice! I have that feeling too, wanting a nice bag 😛 I always go to the Michael Kors outlet in Seattle for decent bags, but I only have two of them. Really good prices though!

    • I’m glad you agree the Cervo looks good! I might really have to check it out! I have like a Guess and Steve Madden bag and the rest are just really cheap ones. I really need to go check out outlets!!

      I have wanted a nice high end bag for quite a few months… so maybe I will get one for myself as graduation present!

  3. Firstly, you totally deserve a treat! You’re so hardworking 🙂

    I’m very partial to horizontal rectangular bags as opposed to square or vertically rectangular bags. There’s just something about them that seem more visually comfortable. So I’m going to have to go with the Executive – besides, I love that colour the most!

    • Haha aww thanks! I just can’t wait till this school year is over!!

      Yeah that’s what I feel like too… which is why I really preferred the Balenciaga City instead of Velo. But all these horizontal rectangular bags seem to be strictly top handled, with no shoulder strap… Gahhhhh!

      I guess I will go check them all out and see in person, because I really loved the Balenciaga bags when I saw them online, but after I saw them in person, they weren’t quite up to what I expected. Don’t get me wrong, they are still absolutely gorgeous… but just… something is missing, but I don’t know what…

  4. Nice blog! I love the way you write:)

    The black one looks amazing! Just what I was looking for.. Thanks!

    • Awww thanks!

      I think out of the three, if I was to get one, the black one is the one I’m most likely going to get, since it has a shoulder strap but its still structured! I do love the executive tote thought… because it’s so classic!

      Thanks for dropping by my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

