MAC Cremesheen Glass Double Dare Review + Swatch

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you had a great and relaxing weekend! To start the week off, I am doing a quick review/swatch for a lip gloss I picked up from MAC during my haul last Friday.

This is my first MAC lipgloss, and my first lipgloss in a long long time. I have never been a big fan of lip glosses because the ones I have tried are all super sticky, but during my rage haul on Friday, I decided to pick one of the MAC ones up and see how it goes. I don’t really like glitters on my lips so I opted for cremesheen glass. I tried on Partial to Pink first but it was way too sheer for me, it barely looks like I have anything on my lips! Then I tried Double Dare, since it’s one of the brightest colours on the display. And it was love at first sight. It’s an opaque gloss that is perfect for everyday wear. MAC officially describes Double Dare as a coral red. But to me it is more like a red-pink. It’s a lot more wearable than red-pink lipsticks for an everyday look. One thing I love about it is how not sticky it was! It does not really feel like I have lip gloss on!

The applicator is a sponge tip, which I personally prefer over other kinds of applicator. It gives me good control with a workable amount of product on it. The brush applicator that I used in store was ridiculous! It just picks up way way way too much product, so I am glad the actual cremesheen glass comes with a sponge tip applicator.

I find the wear time a little disappointing, around 2-3 hours, and completely gone if I decide to eat. But I guess that’s with most lip glosses, they are not designed to stick on your lips for ever.

Natural Lip Colour


With Double Dare

Another thing about cremesheen glass is the price. I probably should’ve checked the price before I decided to get it… but when I’m rage shopping, that’s something I tend to forget to do! It retails for $23.50 CAD ($19.50USD) each. And each comes with 2.7g (0.09US Oz) of products. Right now I am kind of glad I forgot, because otherwise I might not have picked this up!

So far I am very impressed with Double Dare. I have been reaching for it everyday since I got it! I am going to try layering it on top of various lipsticks and see how that goes! I am also really hoping to pick up one or two cremesheen glass from the upcoming Reel Sexy collection that will be released on April 5! Hopefully I will manage to get them before they sell out!

Leave a Reply

