My Mini MAC Lipstick Collection and Swatches

I’ve wanted to do this post for the longest time but the weather has never been good which results in not having good lighting. (The light fixtures in my apartment do NOT permit any decent pictures of swatches whatsoever. At least I will be moving soon!)

I do not own that many MAC lipsticks (only a few actually), but I am quite ready to expand this collection, since there are so many pretty shades and I love their formulations! MAC has a number of different lipstick formulae, including Lustre, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Matte, Cremesheen, Frost, Glaze, Satin. I only own lipsticks in Lustre, Amplified, Cremesheen and Matte, so I can only talk about these four finishes, but hopefully I will get some in other formulations later and will be able to review/swatch them!

From left to right: Crosswires, Craving, Plumful, Lovelorn, Force of Love, Russian Red

In terms of staying power, matte is definitely the champ, and for obvious reasons. It clings to your lips like no tomorrow, the down side is that it’s rather drying. I usually wear lipbalm right under it so it’s a little better, and also makes the lines less obvious. With the other three formula, I think Amplified is the next best, cremesheen, and then lustre. I feel like it also has to do with the pigmentation. Matte and amplified have some serious pigmentation, opaque in one swipe, cremesheen is okay, with lustre being the most sheer out of these (but definitely not the most sheer out of all the formula).

In regards to what’s the best “feeling” one, I feel like they are all pretty similar except matte (since it is drying). Amplified feels more heavy than cremesheen, and lustre is the most lightweight out of these.

All in all, my personal favourite formulation out of these is between cremesheen and amplified, since they are the happy median, but there are days when I prefer the other ones, like matte when I go to a party so I don’t have to worry about retouching throughout the night.

Anyhow, now onto the collection! This is a rather picture heavy post since I have both swatches on my arm and lip swatches!



Swatches!
Natural Lip Color

Crosswires (Cremesheen)
MAC Description:ย Clean Pinky Orange

Plumful (Lustre)
MAC Description: Blossoming Rose Plum

Lovelorn (Lustre)
MAC Description: Emotive Blue Pink

Craving (Amplified/Amplified Creme)
MAC Description: Burst of Plum

Force to Love (Matte)
MAC Description: Vivid Honeysuckle Pink
(limited edition: Chen Man 2012)

Russian Red (Matte)
MAC Description: Intense Bluish-Red

What are some of your favourite MAC lipsticks? I need ideas on which one to get next! Have a great weekend and St. Patricks Day everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “My Mini MAC Lipstick Collection and Swatches

  1. You have really nicely coloured natural lips – I’m jealous! Mine are always pale and as a kid, I developed a habit of chewing on them and licking my lips to give them more colour. Terrible, I am.

  2. Awww! Yea I guess I’m blessed with lips with natural colour, but i used to bite on them to make them more red too! And then I started using lipstick haha. Hey whatever we need to do right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I love russian red on you girl! and I wish my lips are like yours! so pretty. That’s the main reason I’m shy to do a swatch straight from my lips ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S your natural lip colour is awesome! lip gloss or balm alone can stand it!

    • Aww thanks so much Sofie! You look stunning in your pictures and I think you have gorgeous lips!

      To be honest I often forget lipstick when I am running to class since I always sleep in so I am so glad I’m blessed with pigmented lips! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

