Balenciaga City… But Which One?

It’s no secret I am obsessed with Balenciaga bags lately and have been thinking about getting a Balenciaga City bag. And then I wanted the Celine Boston Tote… then the Chanel Executive Tote… then the Chanel 2.55… and well… we all know these are all really expensive and let’s be honest here: I cannot afford more than one of these.

After much consideration and debate…ย I have finally made up my mind that I will splurge and get the Balenciaga City! I’ve wanted it for so long, and it’s of great quality. My shopping habit has shifted from buy cheap stuff that will last me a while just because of impulse buy, to buying items of higher quality (and most of the time, inevitably expensive) since they will last longer. Obviously that means I will be shopping less but I am okay with that! Less is more right?


But now comes the more difficult, and more important question… which one should I get? Regular hardware, giant 12, or giant 21? Gold/Rose Gold/Silver? Which colour? Too many options! I have narrowed it down to a few to choose from, and now I need your opinion!

Basics on the bag:
It’s made of soft vintage crafted lamb skin. Measures 15″W x 9,5″H x 5.5″D. All City bags have black cotton lining, and comes with a removable shoulder strap.

Hardware:
So the City bag comes with 3 sizes of hardwares: regular, giant 12, and giant 21. The regular hardware is made of aged brass, giant 12 comes in rose gold or silver, and giant 21 comes in gold, rose gold, or silver.

I don’t like the silver, or gold. Giant 21 is too… well giant for me. So it’s down to either regular brass, or giant 12 rose gold. Here’s the two for you to compare! (They are both of the same colour and same type of leather, I don’t know why they look so different!)

Regular Aged Brass Hardware


Giant 12 Rose Gold Hardware

Tassel:
As you can see… the regular City has a tassel hanging off it while in Giant 12, it got replaced by this stubby thing. I really want the tassel but at the same time I want the rose gold… what do I do?!

Colour:
Oh gosh, here’s where there are soooo many options! Regular City comes in 10 colours, and thankfully, Giant 12 comes in only 5 colours. I know I want something more classic, that will go with all outfits (since I am spending big bucks on it). So it’s down to Black, Anthracite (a dark dark grey that is slightly metallic), or Gris Poivre (a darkish greige) (only for regular hardware). The black are the ones I showed above, and here are the anthracite and gris poivre.

Regular City in Anthracite

Giant 12 City Rose Gold in Anthracite

Regular City in Gris Poivre

Price:
The regular City will cost $1545, whereas the Giant 12 City sells for $1895. (This is the price in USD, does anyone know how much they are in Canada?)

So…. any thoughts? Do you have any Balenciaga bag and how do you like them? Do share in the comment! I wish you all a great and relaxing weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

(all images via Balenciaga.com)

14 thoughts on “Balenciaga City… But Which One?

      • I see! Thanks for the info! I am very new to this high end bag business so it’s always great to have the opinion from someone who knows what they are talking about! I am looking for an everyday bag so I am glad to hear that you think it’s a good choice! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • There are just too many choices! I am currently leaning towards the City with regular hardware in Anthracite… I really want that tassel!

      Let me know which one you end up buying too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Im stuck in the same position as you….so undecisive. I wouldn’t get it in Canada if I were you it’s $100 more than the bal site plus tax but they are available at Holt Renfrew. I wantEd the Gris poivre at first but they were sold out so I think poker fonce will be my color. Now the hardware I want rose gold 12 it’s soooo nice but it’s also heavier and I want tassels. You could always get the rose gold then buy tassels at a bal boutique if you bought your bag from them they should sell them to you

    • Oh really? You can buy the tassels separately? I never knew that! Well in that case… I might go for the rose gold even though it’s heavier (Just gotta pack lighter!). I will probably hold off buying it until I”m in the states, and they have the colour I really like in stock! Thanks for letting me know about the tassels! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am having the same dilemma, which led me to your page. Thanks for putting them side by side, I have been looking all over for comparisons. Like you, I LOVE the tassels, but also really like the rose gold. There’s also the 300.00 difference.. you could buy a Marc by Marc Jacobs cross body bag with that money (sorry, off topic)! And lastly, there’s the bags themselves, although they both claim to be city bags, the styles are definitely different.. such a dilemma!

    Did you ever make your decision?

    • Hi there!

      Unfortunately by the time I decided to pick up the bag, I’ve seen it on way too many people, and I’ve seen too many fakes being sold (and worn), to the point where I just lost my interest in this bag. Sad eh?

      • I am also feeling that way.. I just got the Marc by Marc Jacobs Black Hillier, and I kind of want a more unique bag. So many people have Balenciaga… If you don’t mind me asking, did you buy a different bag instead?

      • I actually lusted after the Celine mini luggage, but then I see too many people carrying it (again!). I think I have given up on the search of a luxury bag lol! I have some personal issues with buying a bag when I see it on the arms of many other people!

  3. Well of course lots of people can already afford luxury purses. I have been collecting since the 90s. I started wt Gucci, Ferragamo and LV.
    In the past 6 yrs I have been obsessed by Chanel and Balenciaga. Now I’m into Celine. Nice to have if you have the budget. Obviously, I’m a lot older than you ๐Ÿ™‚
    My recommendation to you is to start wt basic colors and the more sturdy brands to last forever ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good luck and let me know what you have chosen.

Leave a Reply

