Maybelline Color Elixir in Captivating Carnation

IMG_2577 IMG_2580 IMG_2584Today I bring to you my new found love – Maybelline Color Elixir in Captivating Carnation. I resisted snapping them up when I first saw them at SDM and Rexall a little while ago because they were $10.99, but caved when Rexall had it on sale for $6.99. And now I’m kicking myself in the rearend for not picking up for shades!

It’s very moisturizing, without being sticky. It’s almost like a liquid balm. This particular shade is a very pretty pink that is perfect for everyday wear. It’s a creme so there’s no shimmer or glitter, but it still looks shiny on the lips because it’s a “gloss”. The color payoff is fantastic, the swatch above is only one pass. It has a very lovely scent (smells like candy to me), and taste (no I didn’t lick it off my lips… *shifty eyes*).┬áThe applicator reminds me a lot of the YSL Glossy Stains, like a modified doe-foot applicator. It was very easy to get precise application.

Oh and the packaging, it looks like a LIPSTICK. How crazy cool is that?! The packaging makes it look really high end in my opinion. I’m loving how all these drugstore brands are making their packaging look super high end these days!

All I know is the next time these bad boys go on sale, I’m getting a few more, since there’s 20 shades in this range! Signature Scarlet, Breathtaking Apricot, Celestial Coral, Dashing Orchid, I’m looking at you. I am seriously having a love affair with this lippie right now…

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Elixir in Captivating Carnation

  1. Omg I read this earlier and didn’t realize you posted it. Now I see it again and I was going to be like “HEY I just saw someone review this EXACT SAME THING and it’s so pretty!”. Oops haha

  2. I saw these when I was at walmart in the states a month ago and then Walmart Canada,,,my boyfriend gave me very disapproving looks when I wanted to get them for $10.99 CAD, BUT if its $6.99 I think I’ll have to make a trip to rexall!! The packaging is so chic and I’m glad the product itself is awesome too!! Are you going to get anymore lol??!

    • They are at Walmart Canada?! I’m surprised they’re the same price as Rexall! Rexall had a 40% off Maybelline lip products there week before black friday, and now I’m really kicking myself for only getting one… to be fair the rest were all opened even though there’s tester. Ugh.

      And you bet I’m going to get more (when they are on sale)! And you should get it! Don’t let your bf discourage you! (Man I’m such an enabler.) But when I go to Walmart I just run to the cosmetics department when my boyfriend do the grocery shopping… oops.

Leave a Reply

