MAC Star Violet Eyeshadow Review and Swatches

Now that I got my new camera, I have been taking pictures of my make up for the whole morning, since I can finally show the colours/shades more accurately than from the iPhone camera… so, expect a number of review/swatches posts coming up! :)

I bought MAC’s Star Violet shadow near the end of 2011, but I haven’t really dipped into it until recently. While I am rather adventurous with lip colours, I am pretty conservative with eyeshadow. I do love colour shadows, since they are so pretty, but I just can never convince myself to put them on my lids. 

I decided to try out some colour eyeshadows one day, and ended up buying Star Violet and Sumptuous Olive. Star Violet is an absolutely stunning violet colour. It has a hint of maroon in it, and maybe even a little bit of brown. I love the way it reflects the light! Although it is not a neutral colour per se, I think it is subtle enough to be worn everyday, and it will look great when paired with neutral shadows. I need to do this one step at a time!

The pigmentation is pretty good, not the most pigmented MAC shadow, but it can be built up easily. The shadow feels buttery smooth, and goes on the lids really easily. I have had no problem with it creasing until more than 12 hours later (with primer). I usually wear it on my outer corner, when wearing a neutral colour all over my lid (my favourite is MAC’s Satin Taupe!).

Star Violet on outer 1/3, Satin Taupe on inner 2/3

Star Violet is a Veluxe Pearl shadow, and there’s 1.3g of product in each pan. It’s slightly less product than shadows of other finishes (1.5g). It can be purchased either as a single shadow, or as a refill pan, both contain the same amount of products. As a single pot shadow it will cost you $15USD/$18CAD, and as a refill pan it is $11.5USD/$14.5CAD.

Summary 

Packaging: 8/10
Pigmentation: 8/10
Lasting Power: 9.5/10
Formula: 9.5/10
Price: 8.5/10
Overall: 9/10

Product: MAC Eyeshadow in Star Violet
Where to Buy: MAC stores or maccosmetics.com
Price: $15USD/$18CAD (single shadow in pot); $11.5USD/$14.5CAD (refill pan)

3 thoughts on “MAC Star Violet Eyeshadow Review and Swatches

  1. Nice blending in the picture! I still have no blending skills! Looks very natural and everyday-wearable too.
    The quality of your new camera looks really good!

Leave a Reply

